Looking for Something to Read Over Break?

Christmas break is just around the corner and students, staff, and faculty are all preparing for the festivities and, probably, a “long winter’s nap”. One of the best ways to unwind is with a good book. So, your ‘friendly neighborhood librarians’ at the Hooley-Bundschu Library have come up with a list of books that you may want to pick up while you’re enjoying some peace and quiet over the break. If you would like a more detailed list, click here!

Paige-Social Media & Information Literacy Librarian

The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy

By: Douglas Adams

Genre: Science Fiction, Humor

Why I think you should read it: It’s a fabulous book and a cult-classic to boot! I loved it when I first read it, and love it still today. I’ve adopted “Don’t Panic” into my general lifestyle (though I do not always carry a towel).

The Monuments Men: Allied heroes, Nazi Thieves, and the Greatest Treasure Hunt in History

By Robert M. Edsel and Bret Witter (Contributor)

Genre: Nonfiction, History, WWII

Why I think you should read it: I am planning to read this in the near future mostly because it will be a feature length film starring:  George Clooney, Bill Murray, John Goodman, and others! So, read it, go see the move in February, and judge which was better. 🙂

Kathleen: Library Director

Want Not

By Jonathan Miles

genre: General Fiction, Satire

Why I think you should read it: It keep me reading and introduced characters I came to who I cared about.

May We Be Forgiven

By: A.M. Holmes

Genre: Contemporary Fiction

Why I think you should read it: People behaving badly is a universal premise for any fiction, but I was cheered by these characters dawning recognition of how badly they had behaved and their attempt to make amends.

Larry Kramer: Electronic Resources Librarian

What the Dog Saw

By: Malcolm Gladwell

Genre: Nonfiction, Sociology, Business

Why I think you should read it: The answers about the implausible tale of the ketchup are most interesting. Gladwell, who writes for the New York Times,  also tells the story of a super-salesman, Ron Popeil,  and all his “Popeil Gadgets.”  He talked with a person who can calm the dog with the movement of his eyeball. The story of how “hair-coloring” for women got started is great. What is the difference between someone who “chokes” and someone who “panics” is also really good.

Coders at Work: Reflections on the Craft of Programming

By: Peter Seibel

Genre: Nonfiction, Computer Science

Why I think you should read it: I am planning to read this. It’s reviews and contents are great for what I am currently working on.

Elisabeth Lomax: Library Assistant

Ocean at the End of the Lane

By: Neil Gaiman

Genre: Fiction, Fantasy, Horror

Why I think you should read it: The author has done it again. The story of a suicide and how it changed a young boy’s entire life is hard to describe. It is definitely scary, yet heart-warming, as well. The characters are interesting and, as always in good supernatural horror fiction, the author asks us to suspend our disbelief in the impossible as he makes it absolutely worth our while in the end.

The Book Thief

By: Markus Zusak

Genre: Young Adult, History, WWII

Why I think you should read it: It is a standalone novel which follows a young girl’s relationship with her foster parents, the other residents of their neighborhood, and a Jewish fist-fighter who hides in her home during the escalation of World War II. It’s extremely interesting and, though upsetting, asks all the right questions.

Adonna Thompson: University Archivist

The Invention of Hugo Cabret

By: Brian Selznick

Genre: Fiction, Young Adult/Children, Fantasy, Mystery

Why I think you should read it: It is a beautiful story uniquely told through a blend of text and pen and ink drawings.

Whose Names are Unknown: A Novel

By: Sanora Babb, Lawrence R. Rodgers (Foreword)

Genre: Historical Fiction, American History

Why I think you should read it: I put this one on my list after hearing about it in the new Ken Burns documentary on the dust bowl. Powerfully moving.

Becky Nichols: Circulation Manager

Anne of Green Gables

By:  L.M. Montgomery

Genre: Children’s Fiction, Classics, Historical Fiction

Why I think you should read it: because she is so sassy! She works her way into trouble and then talks her way out of it.

The Best Christmas Pageant Ever

By: Barbara Robinson

Genre: Children’s Fiction, Humor, Holiday

Why I think you should read it: It’s a fun filled riot of a story. Great for the Christmas season.

Leave a comment

Filed under Reading Suggestions

Leave a Reply

